Nuclear declaration adopted by over 30 countries at first nuclear energy summit

More than 30 countries, including Belgium, adopted the Nuclear Energy Declaration on Thursday at the first nuclear energy summit at Heysel in Brussels.

The declaration denotes nuclear energy as a "key component in the global strategy to reduce greenhouse gas emissions". It states: “Nuclear energy is essential to ensure energy security, increase energy resilience and promote long-term sustainable development and the clean energy transition."

Belgian prime minister Alexander De Croo attended the summit and described nuclear energy as a form of "sustainable energy" available in "enormous, safe and reliable quantities."

He said he supported extending the lifespan of Belgium's Doel 4 and Tihange 3 reactors by 20 years instead of the 10-year extension decided by the current government: "Nuclear energy is part of the solution to achieving net-zero emissions by 2050."

In the statement, the countries recognise that nuclear energy was explicitly mentioned for the first time among the measures to reduce greenhouse gas emissions at the last UN climate summit, COP28. In addition, they reiterate the goal of tripling nuclear energy capacity by 2050.


Nuclear energy accounts for about 10 per cent of the world's electricity supply, with 370 gigawatts generated in 413 nuclear power plants in 31 countries. Thirty more countries are considering using nuclear energy in the energy transition, while several countries - including Belgium - are considering extending or have already extended the life of existing power plants.

It also reaffirms the commitment to dispose of nuclear waste in a "safe and sustainable" manner, in particular through deep geological disposal. Finally, the declaration also calls on the International Atomic Energy Agency to organise a new summit on nuclear energy "in due course".

The document was endorsed by 33 countries: Argentina, Armenia, Bangladesh, Belgium, Brazil, Bulgaria, Canada, China, Egypt, the Philippines, Finland, France, Hungary, India, Italy, Japan, Kazakhstan, Croatia, the Netherlands, Pakistan, Poland, Romania, Serbia, Slovakia, Slovenia, Czechia, Turkey, the United Arab Emirates, the UK, the US, South Africa, South Korea and Sweden.

Belgian prime minister Alexander De Croo and IAEA director general Rafael Mariano Grossi at the summit © BELGA PHOTO NICOLAS MAETERLINCK

Related news

Website preview
COP28: 'Time to put our words into action,' says Belgian prime minister
"It is high time to turn our words and promises into action," said Belgian prime minister Alexander De Croo in his speech at the COP28 UN climate...
Website preview
Keeping nuclear plants open longer threatens to cost the Belgium some €1.5 billion
Keeping nuclear power plants open longer could cost the Belgian government around 1.5 billion euros because electricity prices are falling faster...

Get updates in your mailbox

By clicking "Subscribe" I confirm I have read and agree to the Privacy Policy.


Belga News Agency delivers dependable, rapid and high-quality information 24 hours a day, 7 days a week, from Belgium and abroad to all Belgian media. The information covers all sectors, from politics, economics and finance to social affairs, sports and culture, not to mention entertainment and lifestyle.

Every day, our journalists and press photographers produce hundreds of photos and news stories, dozens of online information items, plus audio and video bulletins, all in both national languages. Since the end of March 2022 English has been added as a language.

For public institutions, businesses and various organisations that need reliable information, Belga News Agency also offers a comprehensive range of corporate services to meet all their communication needs.


Arduinkaai 29 1000 Brussels