Elections 2024: Vlaams Belang wins European elections, Open VLD loses seat

In the Flemish elections to the European Parliament, Vlaams Belang and N-VA both keep their three seats. PVDA wins its first Flemish seat, while Vooruit goes from one to two seats. Open VLD has lost one seat.

The results of the European elections in Belgium were announced shortly after 23.00 on Sunday, after the polls had closed in Italy. Unlike in the federal and regional elections, 16- and 17-year-olds were able to vote for their European representatives.

This led to slight changes in the election results. In Flanders, Vlaams Belang at 23.1 per cent ends up ahead of the N-VA at 22.2 per cent. They remain the largest parties in Flanders and retain three seats in the European Parliament.

This means that Tom Vandendriessche and Gerolf Annemans were re-elected for Vlaams Belang, with Barbara Bonte taking the third seat. In Europe, N-VA politicians Johan Van Overtveldt and Assita Kanko were re-elected and will be joined for the next five years by Kris Van Dijck.

Vooruit and PVDA win seats

Vooruit (12.7 per cent) and PVDA/PTB (8.1 per cent) were also winners on Sunday. The Flemish socialist party goes from one to two seats, with Kathleen Van Brempt and former party leader Bruno Tobback as MEPs. Former trade unionist Rudi Kennes was elected for the Marxist PVDA, becoming the party's first Flemish representative in Europe.

CD&V is the third largest party with 13.3 per cent of the vote and retains its two seats. Former Flemish minister Wouter Beke was elected with Liesbet Sommen. For Groen (9.7 per cent), Sara Matthieu keeps her seat.

As in the federal elections, Open VLD is the loser of the 2024 elections and loses a seat in the European Parliament. Only Hilde Vautmans will represent the party in Europe for the next five years.

Wilmès breaks record

In Wallonia, liberals MR (34.83 per cent) is the big winner, jumping from two to three seats. They will be represented by former prime minister Sophie Wilmès, Olivier Chastel and Benoît Cassart. Wilmès won more than 537,000 preferential votes, more than any Flemish candidate and setting a new Walloon record.

The PS gained two MEPs: former prime minister Elio Di Rupo and Estelle Ceulemans. Les Engagés sends Yvan Verougstraete to the European Parliament, and the PVDA/PTB sends Marc Botenga. Ecolo loses one seat and will only be represented by Saskia Bricmont.

In German-speaking Belgium, only one MEP could be elected. This seat went, as expected, to the CSP (Les Engagés) with 34.93 per cent, who will be represented by Pascal Arimont.


#FlandersNewsService | © BELGA PHOTO DIRK WAEM

Related news

Website preview
Elections 2024: Belgium moves right
As expected, the political shift in Belgium is towards the right. The elections, however, delivered results that are somewhat different from what...

Get updates in your mailbox

By clicking "Subscribe" I confirm I have read and agree to the Privacy Policy.

About belganewsagency.eu

Belga News Agency delivers dependable, rapid and high-quality information 24 hours a day, 7 days a week, from Belgium and abroad to all Belgian media. The information covers all sectors, from politics, economics and finance to social affairs, sports and culture, not to mention entertainment and lifestyle.

Every day, our journalists and press photographers produce hundreds of photos and news stories, dozens of online information items, plus audio and video bulletins, all in both national languages. Since the end of March 2022 English has been added as a language.

For public institutions, businesses and various organisations that need reliable information, Belga News Agency also offers a comprehensive range of corporate services to meet all their communication needs.


Arduinkaai 29 1000 Brussels